Dr. Gary Chapman is most well-known for his identification of the five primary love languages.

After reading his book and taking the online test, I learned that my most dominant love language is gift giving followed by words of affirmation. (Do you know yours, sunshine? Click the link and take the test.)

But Hillsong Australia pastor and A21 founder, Christine Caine, rocked my world in a recent sermon.

She preached that as a Christian, the primary love language that we should give and receive is the language of sacrifice–the willingness to die to self–for the sake of God’s glory and building of the The Kingdom.

As a selfish person who likes to be the center of attention and always in control (nature and nurture working in perfect harmony!) dying to self is a real challenge for me, (#workinprogress #don’tjudgeme) but it is something that I need and want to embrace.

Sacrifice is an opportunity to be more like Christ.
And it is a way to show Him to others, too.

Today I am setting my mind to practice the love language of dying to self, just as Jesus did for me, and you, too, sunshine.

Thy will be done.

“Then he told them what they could expect for themselves:
‘Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead.
You’re not in the driver’s seat—I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it.
Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all.
Self-sacrifice is the waymy way, to finding yourself, your true self…”
Luke 9:23-24